top of page

ENG4U - Unit 3: The Hamlet Seminar

You may be quoting from Hamlet and not knowing it!

The following famous quotes are from Hamlet:

"Sick at heart" - Francisco I. i.

"Not a mouse stirring" - Francisco I. i.

"Frailty, thy name is woman!" - Hamlet I. ii.

"In my mind's eye" - Hamlet I. ii.

"Foul play" - Hamlet I. ii.

"To thine own self be true" - Polonius I. iii.

"Something is rotten in the state of Denmark" - Marcellus I. iv."Murder most foul" - Ghost I. v.

"One may smile, and smile, and be a villain" Hamlet I. v.

"There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,Than are dreamt of in your philosophy."-Hamlet I. v.

"Brevity is the soul of wit" - Polonius II. ii.

"Though this be madness, yet there is method in't"- Polonius II. ii.

"The devil hath power t' assume a pleasing shape" - Hamlet II. ii.

"The play's the thing" - Hamlet II. ii.

"To be, or not to be, that is the question" - Hamlet III. i.

"Get thee to a nunnery" - Hamlet III. i.

"The lady doth protest to much, methinks" - Gertrude III. i.

"Sweets to the sweet!" - Gertrude V. i.

"The dog will have his day" -Hamlet V. ii.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page